Running Shoes, Bib Tags and Frustrations

If you had told a few years ago that I would wake up at 5am to train for 10km and Half-Marathon races, I would have laughed at you.

Despite playing soccer for almost 20 years, running was never my thing. The only reason I ran on a treadmill was because I HAD to for team conditioning. For me, it was boring!

I only considered taking up running when my life got busy and I couldn’t fit a team’s schedule anymore. I wanted to compete in something but couldn’t give the time commitment that a competitive soccer team required. The appeal of running was that I was able to do it when I had the time, I could make the schedule and could change it as I needed to. 6am runs. 10pm runs. Whenever.

I hated running in the start. I wanted it to be over as soon as I tied my laces up. I struggled with getting into the groove and the mental battle of wanting to stop when my legs became sore. If this is where you’re at,  I promise there will be a day where you will slowly start to notice it getting easier to deal with.

It quickly became something I couldn’t live without. A long frustrating day at the office would find me lacing up my runners and hitting the pavement, to find a little peace in my head. It is my stress release.

I was gearing up for 2013 to be a big run year for me. 15 runs. Two Half -Marathons. Until, I re-hurt my left knee in December 2012. I spent weeks on crutches. Banned from running for months. Even six months later, there are days where I feel completely defeated when I get off the treadmill in pain or finding it a struggle to walk the day after training.

The Mother’s Day 10K is 10 days away. It will be the first race of the year for me. I’ll show up to do the 10K but there is a possibility I may only do the 5K, it will be a decision I make when I reach the 10K turn-off. As frustrating as that is, the one thing I’ve learnt through injuries is… you HAVE to listen to what you body needs and you have to be ok with saying no to an event/goal. I’ve pushed through things because I’m stubborn and would always regret it shortly after. In the end, it wasn’t worth it. There will always be another race or another day to hit a goal.

But truthfully, there is a little heartbreak knowing I may not hit the goals I wanted to hit this year…

7c622893a63965f78c74439c08e0ab2e

Running Shoes, Bib Tags and Frustrations

Leave a Reply

