friday night at home

Gosh, I feel like I’m failing my blog… with a busy schedule and sitting on a computer most days for work, it’s tough to come home and turn on the computer to write. And well, I’ve basically been avoiding my laptop for any other than my photography (trying to be more proactive with proper downtime). Limiting computer time at home has been long overdue. I’ve found some TV series that I’ve been glued to… Mad Men, Suits, Nashville and Chicago Fire. Sweats. Popcorn. This is home time for me right now.

As dinner cooks and a glass of wine sits waiting, I know I need to be here more. I need to write more.

But what to say… Words have been tough lately. I’ve struggled with deciding how much I want the world to know about my life. Whether it be the struggles of a loved one with mental illness, how a condition I’ve had my whole life has begun to worsen or the complications of love. These all have been weighing on my mind a lot lately. A lot of stress to carry at times. I’m sure there will be a time where I feel comfortable to turn these thoughts into blog posts.

Until then, I’m grateful for the experiences I’ve had lately… Volunteering with Kids Up Front, being invited to work with a photographer that I’ve admired for a few years, Haleigh learning to read, Bones learning to *high five* and the perks of quitting caffeine (who knew this would make the happy list – ha).

IMG_20140213_221104-1

Thankful that the Calgary deep freeze has ended, leaving runners happy to hit the pavement again. Maybe next winter, I’ll be a little more willing to attempt -15/-20 running. I’m happy camper in the gym those days. I hate to admit that my training schedule has been affected by everything going on lately but happily planning to amp it up starting on Monday. There are 86 days until Calgary Marathon. Where did the time go?!

I’m blessed to have the camera batteries on the chargers and the memory cards cleared for another shoot tomorrow; rustic outdoor engagement shoot (another reason why I’m happy the deep freeze has ended). It never ceases to amaze me that people appreciate my work, that people believe in something that I love. Truly grateful for everyone that has been a part of this journey, from supportive family and friends to clients who after years tell me that my images are still their favourite.

What I’ve been reminded of lately is that life will always be a mix of hardship and happiness, to be grateful for everything that comes your way… lessons let us grow and smiles save our spirit.

Happy Friday! (thanks for reading this rambling)

friday night at home

Leave a Reply

