you always crave what you can’t do…

Nothing is quite like waking up feeling crummy, it feels like the whole day is ruined before it began… Today became a day of cancelled photo meetings and not going to the last day of the Calgary Auto Show. Hanging out at home with a Top Chef Canada marathon, nursing a Venti Vanilla Rooibous for the third round (one sbux, just re-filled with hot water)… in hopes that it will help clear my head of it’s stuffed/angry state. In true Lindsey fashion, I’ve been working away on the laptop. Photo paperwork, some blog writing and well, avoiding the wish that I was feeling better so I could run.

ImagePlanning my attack for the last 10 weeks of my Half Marathon training, and it begins tomorrow… No rest for the wicked, right? Only if I’m feeling up to it, I promise. The ten week mark has always been the point where I planned to become very strict about training; crunch time. I’ve been hitting my training schedule but now, its push time. It’s March and the race season is about to become very busy. 3 short runs/1 long run per week, averaging about 30-35km weekly. My knee has been acting up at around 13-15km, which may be the challenge in the coming weeks with the weekly long runs getting longer and longer.

I’ve been struggling with finding the balance of coming back from an injury… when to push it a little bit more or to stop for the day. It’s normal for legs and knees get sore when you start reaching new distances, so is it something I can run through or is it the injury. I have been playing it safe but it leaves me wondering if i’m quitting too soon.

I have to push it 10 more km to be comfortable on race day at Calgary Marathon.

Who has some good tips on how to push through when adding more mileage to your run? It’s all a mental battle, but is there anything you do that helps… a certain playlist on the iPod? Do you consume something for energy?

you always crave what you can’t do…

Leave a Reply

